Zesty Alternatives: Zesty Competitors for Kubernetes Optimization and Commitment Management Compared
Zesty sells two different products under one name, and the right alternative depends on which one you are replacing. The Zesty Platform, the product that grew out of Kompass, optimizes Kubernetes: it rightsizes pods, scales them horizontally and vertically together, packs unevictable pods onto fewer nodes and autoscales persistent volumes. Commitment Manager buys and adjusts AWS Savings Plans and Reserved Instances for a share of the savings. Zesty publishes no figures on zesty.co, but its own AWS Marketplace listings do: $5,000 a month or $50,000 a year for the platform, and $250 a month plus 25 percent of savings for Commitment Manager. This page compares the vendors buyers shortlist against each half, with the prices they publish and the catch each one carries, so you can price a switch before the first sales call.
projected this month if unattended
Spend by team
Budget forecast
The short answer
The best Zesty alternative depends on which half of Zesty you use. For Kubernetes optimization, CAST AI (Growth at $1,000 a month plus $5 per CPU on AWS Marketplace) replaces nodes, spot and pod sizing in one tool, while ScaleOps, StormForge Optimize Live and PerfectScale focus on pod rightsizing, and PerfectScale is free up to 300 vCPU. For commitment management, ProsperOps and nOps charge a share of realized savings like Zesty Commitment Manager does. Zesty itself lists $50,000 a year on AWS Marketplace.
CostAnalyst is on this list, so here is the plain version first. We do not install a controller in your clusters and we do not buy commitments for you. We read your cloud bill and Kubernetes cost data read-only, allocate the spend per team and product, and show what the optimization tool you pick actually saved on the invoice. We publish our prices. Everything below about other vendors comes from their own websites, documentation or AWS Marketplace listings read on 22 September 2026, and third-party claims are labeled as such.
How we compared
Five things that actually separate these tools
Which half of Zesty you are actually replacing
Start by writing down which Zesty invoice lines you pay, because the alternatives do not overlap much. The Zesty Platform is Kubernetes optimization. Its AWS Marketplace listing describes multi-dimensional autoscaling (horizontal and vertical together, which the Kubernetes VPA and HPA cannot do safely on the same metrics), adaptive pod placement that groups unevictable pods on fewer nodes, persistent volume autoscaling, FastScaler, which Zesty says speeds application boot time by up to 5x for traffic spikes, and cloud commitment optimization built from micro-commitments. Commitment Manager is a separate listing: it buys and adjusts AWS Savings Plans and Reserved Instances and charges on the savings. Zesty Disk, the EBS auto-scaling product, is a third listing priced per gigabyte. A team that only uses Commitment Manager should be comparing ProsperOps and nOps, not CAST AI. A team that bought the platform for Kubernetes should be comparing CAST AI, ScaleOps, StormForge and PerfectScale, and deciding whether it wants one vendor to own the node layer too.
What Zesty costs today, so you know what you are comparing against
Zesty's pricing page promises "Usage-based pricing. Never more than the value delivered," a "1:3 ROI, minimum" and an ROI projection before any commitment, with no numbers. Its AWS Marketplace listings, sold under the seller name Zesty, carry the numbers. The Zesty Platform public offer (created June 2025) is a contract at $5,000 for one month, $50,000 for twelve months and $100,000 for twenty-four months, with quantity allowed and "No Refund Policy". The annual price saves $10,000 against twelve monthly terms, and the two-year term carries no further discount. The listing does not state how many vCPUs or clusters one unit covers, which is the first thing to ask. Commitment Manager lists a platform fee of $250 a month or $3,000 a year plus $0.25 for every dollar of savings generated, which is a 25 percent savings share. A widely repeated figure of "$500 a month plus $5 per managed vCPU" for Kompass comes from third-party pricing posts; it is not on zesty.co today, so treat it as history rather than a quote. Our Zesty pricing breakdown, linked below, works through the arithmetic.
How each tool applies a change, and whether it takes over your autoscaler
This is where alternatives differ most in practice and where evaluations go wrong. CAST AI replaces the node layer: it provisions and removes nodes, moves workloads to spot capacity with fallback to on-demand, and rebalances clusters, so it takes over the job of Karpenter or the Cluster Autoscaler. That is powerful and it is also a decision your platform team has to accept before the trial. ScaleOps, StormForge Optimize Live and PerfectScale work at the workload layer: they set CPU and memory requests and limits and leave node provisioning to whatever you already run. StormForge resizes pods in place without a restart where the cluster supports it, and PerfectScale says its automation works with both Cluster Autoscaler and Karpenter. Zesty's pitch sits between the two groups, because it combines vertical and horizontal scaling with pod placement and storage. If Zesty's value to you was mostly bin-packing, a workload tool plus Karpenter consolidation may cover it for far less. If it was spike protection, test FastScaler-style behavior explicitly, because none of the alternatives market that feature by that name.
Price shape: flat platform fee, per vCPU, or share of savings
The four pricing models grow differently as your clusters grow, and the public cards let you model them. Zesty's platform public offer is a flat $50,000 a year for an unstated scope. CAST AI charges a platform fee plus a meter: Growth is $1,000 a month for up to 500 CPUs and four clusters, plus $5.00 per managed CPU per 720-hour month, about $42,000 a year at 500 CPUs. ScaleOps lists $50,000 a year plus $9.00 per vCPU with the metering period not stated, which is the single biggest unknown on its card. StormForge lists $2,700 a month per 1,000 vCPUs on contract, or $0.0041 per requested vCPU-hour on pay-as-you-go with no minimum, about $17,960 a year at 500 vCPUs. PerfectScale is free up to 300 vCPU a month and lists Advanced at the equivalent of $2 and Expert at $4 per vCPU a month. On the commitment side, Zesty's 25 percent share compares with ProsperOps and nOps, which also bill on realized savings but do not publish the percentage. Model all of them at your vCPU count today and in a year, then compare against the savings each claims.
Who proves the savings, and what happens if you want out
Every vendor in this category reports its own savings, and every savings-share contract bills on a number the vendor computes. Before you sign, agree the baseline in writing: which month, which rates, whether commitments bought before the vendor count, and how a spot interruption or a workload that grows is treated. ProsperOps is unusually specific here, stating that its share is calculated from your provider's billing data rather than as a percentage of cloud spend. Then check the exit. Zesty's platform listing says "No Refund Policy", CAST AI's listing says it does not currently offer refunds, and ScaleOps does not support refunds but lets you cancel at any time. Commitment Manager is a special case: commitments Zesty buys on your behalf are real AWS commitments, so ask who owns them and what happens to their remaining term if you leave. A read-only cost view that sits outside the optimizer, such as Kubernetes cost allocation per team, is how you check the vendor's savings number against the invoice.
At a glance
9 Zesty alternatives compared
← Scroll to see all columns →
| Tool | Best for | What it replaces from Zesty | The catch | Published pricing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CAST AI | Replacing Zesty with one tool that also owns nodes and spot | Kubernetes platform: nodes, spot, pod autoscaling, commitment utilization | Takes over the node layer from Karpenter or Cluster Autoscaler; no refunds on Marketplace | Free monitoring plan; Growth $1,000 a month plus $5 per CPU; Enterprise $5,000 a month (AWS Marketplace) |
| ScaleOps | Pod rightsizing in production, including GPUs and air-gapped clusters | Kubernetes platform: pod requests, limits and replicas | The $9.00 per vCPU meter has no stated period; no refunds, cancel anytime | $4,167 a month or $50,000 a year plus $9.00 per vCPU (AWS Marketplace) |
| StormForge Optimize Live (CloudBolt) | Lowest published per-vCPU rate and in-place resizing without restarts | Kubernetes platform: pod requests and limits, Java heap | No spot or node management; GPU support described as on the roadmap by CloudBolt | $2,700 a month per 1,000 vCPUs, or $0.0041 per requested vCPU-hour pay-as-you-go (AWS Marketplace) |
| PerfectScale by DoiT | Testing automated rightsizing for free before paying anyone | Kubernetes platform: pod requests and limits, node recommendations | Automation is on the Expert tier; paid rates are on Marketplace, not its own site | Free up to 300 vCPU a month; Advanced $2 and Expert $4 per vCPU a month (AWS Marketplace) |
| Kubecost (IBM) | Kubernetes cost visibility and allocation without automation | Zesty's visibility dashboards only | Recommends, does not change workloads | Foundations free up to 250 cores; Enterprise $15,000 a year for up to 250 cores (AWS Marketplace) |
| Karpenter and the Vertical Pod Autoscaler | Teams that can run open source and want zero license cost | Node consolidation and basic pod rightsizing | VPA cannot share CPU or memory metrics with an HPA; no commitment handling | Free and open source; you pay for the instances |
| ProsperOps | Replacing Zesty Commitment Manager for AWS, Azure and Google Cloud commitments | Commitment Manager: Savings Plans and Reserved Instances | Savings share percentage not published; Flexera announced its acquisition in January 2026 | Share of realized savings, percentage not published |
| nOps | Commitment management plus AWS cost visibility from one vendor | Commitment Manager and parts of the Kubernetes platform | No public price; Marketplace dimensions are $1 placeholders for private offers | Share of savings for rate optimization; 14-day trial |
| CostAnalyst | Checking any optimizer's savings against the actual invoice | Nothing in the cluster; it measures what the replacement saves | Read-only: does not change pods, nodes or commitments | $99, $299 and $799 a month, published; Kubernetes on Scale |
Product facts checked July 2026. Vendors change pricing and packaging often, so confirm before you buy.
Tool by tool
What each tool is genuinely best at
CAST AI
Best for: Replacing Zesty with one tool that also owns nodes and spot
The broadest single replacement for the Zesty Platform. CAST AI runs on EKS, GKE, AKS and Oracle Cloud, starts with a read-only agent that estimates savings, and then automates node provisioning, spot instances with fallback to on-demand, bin packing, rebalancing, container live migration and vertical plus horizontal pod autoscaling. Its AWS Marketplace listing is the clearest rate card in the category: a free monitoring plan, Growth at $1,000 a month for up to 500 CPUs and four clusters, GrowthPro at $1,000 a month for up to 2,000 CPUs, and Enterprise at $5,000 a month, each plus $0.00694444 per managed CPU-hour, which is $5.00 per CPU per 720-hour month. At 500 CPUs that is about $42,000 a year. It does not handle AWS commitments the way Zesty Commitment Manager does, so pair it with a commitment tool if you used both.
CAST AI compared to CostAnalystScaleOps
Best for: Pod rightsizing in production, including GPUs and air-gapped clusters
The closest like-for-like alternative when Zesty's value was automated rightsizing of live workloads. ScaleOps sets pod requests, limits and replica counts continuously, supports GPU and fractional GPU rightsizing, and runs self-hosted, as ScaleOps Cloud or air-gapped, which matters to regulated buyers. Its website shows a quote form; its AWS Marketplace listing prices a platform fee of $4,167 a month or $50,000 a year plus a metered fee of $9.00 per vCPU, with the metering period not stated. That one gap moves a 1,000 vCPU quote by roughly $100,000 a year, so get it in writing. Published customer claims include 62 percent CPU and 40 percent memory savings at Maxar. It does not manage commitments.
ScaleOps compared to CostAnalystStormForge Optimize Live (CloudBolt)
Best for: Lowest published per-vCPU rate and in-place resizing without restarts
Owned by CloudBolt since March 2025, StormForge rightsizes workloads with machine learning on usage data and changes requests in place without restarting pods where Kubernetes allows it. It also tunes Java heap settings, which most rightsizers skip. The published price is the lowest per vCPU of the automated group: $2,700 a month per 1,000 vCPUs on contract, or $0.0041 per requested vCPU-hour on pay-as-you-go with no minimum, about $2.99 per vCPU a month. The trial covers full optimization on one cluster for 30 days. It leaves nodes to Karpenter or the Cluster Autoscaler, so it replaces Zesty's pod work but not its placement or storage features.
StormForge Optimize Live (CloudBolt) compared to CostAnalystPerfectScale by DoiT
Best for: Testing automated rightsizing for free before paying anyone
The cheapest way to find out whether you still need a paid optimizer after Zesty. PerfectScale supports EKS, GKE, AKS, OpenShift, Rancher and self-hosted clusters, has a free tier up to 300 vCPU a month with unlimited clusters, and its site now shows only a quote form for paid tiers. Its AWS Marketplace listing is more candid: Advanced, including cost data and node recommendations, at the equivalent of $2 per vCPU a month, and Expert, which adds automation, the public API and SSO, at the equivalent of $4, both metered hourly. It says its automation works alongside Cluster Autoscaler and Karpenter. There is no commitment management.
PerfectScale by DoiT compared to CostAnalystKubecost (IBM)
Best for: Kubernetes cost visibility and allocation without automation
Not an optimizer, and worth including because many teams bought Zesty for the savings dashboard and ended up using the recommendations manually. Kubecost, now part of IBM, allocates Kubernetes cost by namespace, deployment and label and recommends request sizes, but it does not apply them. Foundations is free for unlimited clusters up to 250 cores with 15 days of metric retention. The Enterprise public offer on AWS Marketplace is $15,000 a year for up to 250 cores, the same ceiling as the free tier, so the fee buys retention, multi-cluster views, RBAC and support rather than scale.
Kubecost (IBM) compared to CostAnalystKarpenter and the Vertical Pod Autoscaler
Best for: Teams that can run open source and want zero license cost
Before replacing Zesty with another vendor, check what the free stack now covers. Karpenter provisions right-sized nodes from pending pods and consolidates underused ones, and runs on AWS and, as node auto-provisioning, on AKS. The Vertical Pod Autoscaler sets requests from observed usage, and Kubernetes 1.35 made in-place pod resize stable, so the restart problem is shrinking. What the free stack does not do is Zesty's signature: scale the same workload vertically and horizontally at once. If your workloads are mostly stateless and you had Zesty for consolidation, this may be enough.
Karpenter and the Vertical Pod Autoscaler compared to CostAnalystProsperOps
Best for: Replacing Zesty Commitment Manager for AWS, Azure and Google Cloud commitments
The best-known autonomous commitment manager and the most direct alternative to Zesty Commitment Manager. ProsperOps Autonomous Discount Management buys and adjusts commitments continuously and charges what it describes as a small percentage of realized savings, calculated from your provider's billing system rather than as a percentage of cloud spend. It does not publish the percentage, so compare it against Zesty's published 25 percent plus $250 a month. Flexera announced the acquisition of ProsperOps on 6 January 2026, so check whether pricing or packaging now runs through Flexera One.
ProsperOps compared to CostAnalystnOps
Best for: Commitment management plus AWS cost visibility from one vendor
nOps sells commitment management on a share of savings, like Zesty, alongside AWS cost visibility and a Kubernetes compute copilot. Its AWS Marketplace listing has a free platform dimension and $1.00 placeholder dimensions for commitment management and the platform, which means every real price is a private offer. The percentage of savings is not published. It offers a 14-day trial. It is an AWS-first product, which matters if Zesty was covering Azure commitments for you.
nOps compared to CostAnalystCostAnalyst
Best for: Checking any optimizer's savings against the actual invoice
We are not a Zesty replacement and do not pretend to be. CostAnalyst connects your AWS, Azure and Google Cloud billing read-only, allocates Kubernetes and cloud spend per team and product, flags anomalies, and shows the before-and-after on the invoice for whichever optimizer you choose. That matters most on savings-share contracts, where the fee is computed on the vendor's own number. Plans are published: Starter $99, Growth $299 and Scale $799 a month billed yearly, with Kubernetes allocation on Scale.
See how CostAnalyst worksHow to choose
Pick by the problem you actually have
You used the Zesty Platform for Kubernetes and want one vendor again
Shortlist CAST AI first. It covers nodes, spot and pod autoscaling in one product and publishes a full rate card on AWS Marketplace: about $42,000 a year at 500 CPUs on Growth. Decide before the trial whether it may replace Karpenter or your Cluster Autoscaler, because that is how it saves money.
You only need pod rightsizing and already run Karpenter
Compare StormForge Optimize Live, ScaleOps and PerfectScale. StormForge pay-as-you-go has no minimum and is the lowest published per-vCPU rate, PerfectScale is free up to 300 vCPU, and ScaleOps fits GPU-heavy or air-gapped clusters. Ask ScaleOps for the metering period of its $9.00 per vCPU before comparing.
You only used Zesty Commitment Manager
Compare ProsperOps and nOps against Zesty's published 25 percent of savings plus $250 a month. Both bill on realized savings and neither publishes the percentage, so ask each for the share, the baseline definition and who owns commitments already bought.
You want to stop paying for optimization and do it yourself
Run Karpenter consolidation and the Vertical Pod Autoscaler in recommend mode for two weeks, then measure idle capacity on the invoice. Kubecost Foundations, free up to 250 cores, shows where the waste sits by namespace.
Your finance team does not trust the vendor-reported savings
Keep the optimizer, add a read-only cost baseline outside it, and put the baseline month and rates in the contract. CostAnalyst reconciles cloud and Kubernetes spend to the invoice from 99 dollars a month.
Your renewal is inside 60 days
Ask Zesty for the vCPU or cluster scope behind the $50,000 annual offer, then price the same scope on CAST AI, StormForge and PerfectScale from their Marketplace cards. Three written numbers against one is the strongest renewal position you can build in a month.
Questions buyers ask
Zesty alternatives, answered
What are the best Zesty alternatives?
For Kubernetes optimization, the main Zesty alternatives are CAST AI, which also manages nodes and spot, and the pod rightsizers ScaleOps, StormForge Optimize Live and PerfectScale. For commitment management, ProsperOps and nOps. Kubecost covers visibility without automation, and Karpenter with the Vertical Pod Autoscaler is the free option.
Who are Zesty's competitors?
Zesty competes with CAST AI, ScaleOps, StormForge (CloudBolt) and PerfectScale (DoiT) in Kubernetes optimization, and with ProsperOps, nOps and native AWS Savings Plans purchasing in commitment management. In Kubernetes cost visibility it overlaps with Kubecost and cloud cost platforms such as CloudZero and Finout.
How much does Zesty cost?
Zesty publishes no price on zesty.co, but its AWS Marketplace listings do. The Zesty Platform costs $5,000 a month, $50,000 a year or $100,000 for two years, with no refunds. Commitment Manager costs $250 a month or $3,000 a year plus 25 percent of the savings it generates. Zesty Disk is priced per gigabyte, from $0.025 down to $0.01.
Is there a free alternative to Zesty?
Yes. Karpenter and the Kubernetes Vertical Pod Autoscaler are free and open source and cover node consolidation and basic pod rightsizing. PerfectScale is free up to 300 vCPU a month, Kubecost Foundations is free up to 250 cores for visibility, and CAST AI has a free monitoring plan. None of them replaces Commitment Manager for free.
Zesty vs CAST AI: which is better?
CAST AI is better if you want one vendor to run nodes, spot capacity and pod autoscaling and you are happy for it to replace your autoscaler; its Marketplace card prices Growth at $1,000 a month plus $5 per CPU. Zesty is better if you want horizontal and vertical pod scaling combined with AWS or Azure commitment management from the same vendor.
What is the best alternative to Zesty Commitment Manager?
ProsperOps is the most direct alternative, with autonomous commitment management billed as a share of realized savings calculated from your provider's billing data. nOps also charges a share of savings. Neither publishes its percentage, so compare their written quotes against Zesty's published 25 percent of savings plus $250 a month.
Does Zesty offer refunds?
Not on its public AWS Marketplace offers. The Zesty Platform listing states "No Refund Policy" and the Commitment Manager listing states "No refund policy". Third-party summaries of Zesty's help documentation describe a savings guarantee on commitments it buys for you, crediting the difference if a commitment costs more than on-demand, with exclusions, so get that clause into the contract.
What is Zesty Kompass?
Kompass is the name Zesty used for its Kubernetes optimization platform, covering pod rightsizing, headroom reduction, persistent volume autoscaling and spot management. The AWS Marketplace listing now sells it as the Zesty Platform, and the billing dimension is still called Kompass_platform. It adds multi-dimensional autoscaling, adaptive pod placement and FastScaler, at $50,000 a year on the public offer.
Is Zesty worth it?
Zesty is worth it when combined vertical and horizontal scaling, pod placement and storage autoscaling save well over its $50,000 a year public offer, which Zesty says delivers at least a 1:3 return. If you mainly need pod rightsizing, StormForge or PerfectScale cost less per vCPU, and if you only need consolidation, Karpenter is free.
Can I use Zesty with Karpenter?
Zesty does not publish a compatibility statement for Karpenter on its pricing or Marketplace pages, so ask during the trial which of its node features overlap Karpenter consolidation. Among the alternatives, PerfectScale states that its automation works with Cluster Autoscaler and Karpenter, while CAST AI replaces the node autoscaler.
Keep reading
See your savings in dollars
Connect your cloud and SaaS spend read-only and get a prioritized savings plan. Money never moves. Create your account and get started.