Costanalyst
Buyer guide

ScaleOps vs StormForge for Kubernetes Pod Rightsizing: Pricing, In-Place Resize and Automation Compared

Almost every ScaleOps vs StormForge page you can find was written by one of the two vendors, and the one thing both of them get wrong is price. CloudBolt, which owns StormForge, publishes a comparison table stating that ScaleOps has "No public pricing". ScaleOps's own pricing page agrees, offering only a custom quote. Yet the ScaleOps Platform listing on AWS Marketplace publishes a full rate card: a fixed platform fee of $50,000 for twelve months, or $4,167 for one month, plus a metered charge of $9.00 per vCPU. StormForge's two Marketplace listings publish theirs too: $32,400 a year per 1,000 vCPUs on contract, or $0.0041 per requested vCPU per hour pay-as-you-go. This page puts both rate cards side by side, then compares the two platforms on the four things that actually decide the purchase: how a change lands on a running pod, where your metrics live, how much autonomy you get on day one, and how far each product reaches beyond pod requests.

Spend Console
Cloud + SaaS
Connected AWS GCP Azure SaaS
Find savings in
Identified

projected this month if unattended

Spend by team

Budget forecast

Projected EoQ $124k
With savings
Example figures ยท read-only access, money never moves

The short answer

ScaleOps and StormForge Optimize Live both continuously rightsize Kubernetes CPU and memory requests, and both are sold per vCPU. ScaleOps is the broader platform: fully autonomous from install, self-hosted with its own in-cluster Prometheus, and it also manages nodes, spot capacity, Karpenter and GPUs. StormForge is the narrower, more cautious tool: a SaaS service with three in-cluster pods, an observe-then-recommend-then-automate rollout, and in-place pod resizing with automatic rollback. On AWS Marketplace, StormForge lists $32,400 a year per 1,000 vCPUs with no minimum on pay-as-you-go, while ScaleOps lists a $50,000 annual platform fee plus $9.00 per vCPU. Pick StormForge if you only want rightsizing and cannot tolerate restarts; pick ScaleOps if you want pods, nodes, spot and GPUs run hands-free by one platform.

Costanalyst appears in the table below, so here is the plain version first. We do not rightsize pods. We do not install a controller in your cluster, we hold no write access, and if the job is automatically resizing workload requests in production, ScaleOps, StormForge, CAST AI or PerfectScale is the right purchase and we are not. We are listed because every automation vendor here reports its own savings, and buyers keep needing an independent number for what a cluster costs per team before and after the change. Every price on this page was read off the vendors' own sites and their public AWS Marketplace listings on 16 September 2026, with the listing IDs given so you can check them. Where a claim comes from one vendor describing the other, this page says so, because those are the claims most likely to be out of date.

How we compared

Five things that actually separate these tools

What each vendor publishes on price, and where

Start with the rate cards, because they change the whole conversation. ScaleOps's pricing page is a custom-quote form that says its pricing model depends on factors specific to your environment. Its AWS Marketplace listing (prodview-t6ctoxyyxp5zs) is not: it publishes a ScaleOps Platform Fee of $4,167 for one month or $50,000 for twelve months, plus a ScaleOps Platform Metered Fee described as "Charge Per vCPU" at $9.00, with the note that ScaleOps does not currently support refunds but you can cancel at any time. StormForge publishes two listings. The contract listing (prodview-gie5p5ljkkzhm) prices "Optimize Live, Automatic K8s Workload Rightsizing, 1000 vCPUs" at $2,700 for one month or $32,400 for twelve, with quantity configurable. The pay-as-you-go listing (prodview-pcp2mkraouwbk) meters $0.0041 per requested vCPU per hour with, in StormForge's own documentation, "no upfront or minimum cost". Neither vendor discounts the annual term against monthly: twelve months of ScaleOps at $4,167 is $50,004 and twelve months of StormForge at $2,700 is exactly $32,400. Private offers can beat all of these numbers, but a public rate card is the anchor you negotiate from, and now you have both.

How a change lands on a running pod

This is the technical fork that matters most to anyone running JVMs, stateful sets or long batch jobs. Kubernetes only made in-place pod resize a stable feature in v1.35, and before that every request change meant a restart. StormForge built its product around in-place resizing: CloudBolt states that Optimize Live performs in-place pod resizing with automatic rollback if application health degrades, adjusts CPU and memory requests together with the HPA target utilization as a coupled pair (the bi-dimensional autoscaling it has patented), and reconciles drift after a CI/CD deploy or a manual change puts the old values back. ScaleOps also lists in-place resizing in CloudBolt's comparison, and in practice its automation has been eviction-based for most workloads, which is how it manages replicas, node consolidation and pod placement at the same time. If your clusters are on a version that supports in-place resize and your workloads restart cheaply, this difference is small. If a restart costs you a cache warm-up, a JVM heap rebuild or a connection storm, it is the whole decision.

Where your metrics live

ScaleOps is self-hosted by design. Its site describes it as natively self-hosted and deployable anywhere you run Kubernetes, with self-hosted, ScaleOps Cloud and air-gapped deployment options, and CloudBolt's comparison states it requires in-cluster Prometheus for metrics collection and storage, a full Prometheus deployment per cluster. That is a real operational cost at scale and a real security advantage: nothing leaves the cluster. StormForge is a SaaS service. It installs three pods (an agent workload controller, an agent metrics forwarder and an applier), processes everything in the cloud, requires no separate Prometheus, and states that no code, configuration or application data is transmitted, only resource usage metrics. Security teams that must keep telemetry inside the boundary will prefer ScaleOps; platform teams that do not want to operate another Prometheus per cluster will prefer StormForge.

How much autonomy you get on day one

ScaleOps is fully autonomous from install. CloudBolt describes it as an install-then-automate model, and ScaleOps's own site sells context-aware automation that manages CPU, memory, GPU, storage and network for every app in production without manual tuning. StormForge deliberately sells progressive autonomy: observe, then recommend, then automate, with the team controlling the pace and a mutating admission webhook for GitOps-aware patching. Both models are defensible. Hands-off automation moves the bill faster and asks for more trust; a staged rollout costs weeks but lets a change-averse organization prove each step. Match this to how your security and change-management review actually works, not to how you wish it worked.

How far each one reaches beyond pod requests

ScaleOps is a platform; StormForge is a rightsizer. ScaleOps's published scope covers pod rightsizing, HPA and replica tuning, node optimization and consolidation, Karpenter optimization, spot instance handling, smart pod placement, fractional and autonomous GPU workload rightsizing, and Java resource management. StormForge covers CPU and memory requests, HPA target utilization, Java heap, and custom resource types, and CloudBolt states plainly that GPU optimization is on the roadmap and not yet available and that spot optimization is not offered. If you already run Karpenter well, StormForge's narrower scope is a feature: it rightsizes pods and lets Karpenter bin-pack the result, and CloudBolt claims up to 70 percent node efficiency that way against roughly 20 percent with Karpenter alone. If nobody owns node management and you want one vendor for the whole stack, ScaleOps is the only one of the two that offers it.

At a glance

6 Kubernetes pod rightsizing platforms compared

← Scroll to see all columns →

Tool Best for How it applies a change Published rate Pricing
ScaleOps Teams that want pods, nodes, spot and GPUs run hands-free by one self-hosted platform Fully autonomous from install; eviction-based for most workloads, in-place listed $50,000 per 12 months or $4,167 per month platform fee, plus $9.00 per vCPU metered (AWS Marketplace) Quote on scaleops.com; public rate card on AWS Marketplace; no refunds
StormForge Optimize Live (CloudBolt) Rightsizing only, without restarts, with a staged rollout and a published per-vCPU rate Observe, recommend, then automate; in-place resize with automatic rollback $32,400 per 12 months or $2,700 per month per 1,000 vCPUs on contract; $0.0041 per requested vCPU-hour pay-as-you-go Published on two AWS Marketplace listings; 30-day free trial; fees non-refundable
CAST AI Multi-cloud estates that want the autoscaler, spot and pod sizing from one independent vendor Automated pod autoscaling plus cluster autoscaler and bin-packing; live container migration Growth $1,000 per month or $12,000 per year (up to 500 CPU, 4 clusters) plus $0.00694444 per managed CPU-hour; Enterprise $5,000 per month (AWS Marketplace) Quote on cast.ai; public rate card on AWS Marketplace; no refunds
PerfectScale (DoiT) Grading the idea before you sign an annual contract Recommends requests and limits; applies them when you enable automation Free up to 200 vCPU per month; paid per vCPU on quote Published free tier, quote above it
Kubernetes Vertical Pod Autoscaler Platform teams that will operate the free baseline themselves Recommender plus updater; Auto mode deprecated in VPA 1.4.0, in-place resize stable in Kubernetes v1.35 Free Free, open source
Costanalyst Measuring Kubernetes cost per team before and after you buy rightsizing automation Nothing, read-only by design $99, $299 and $799 per month, published; Kubernetes cost data on the Scale plan Published, monthly or yearly, free demo

Product facts checked July 2026. Vendors change pricing and packaging often, so confirm before you buy.

Tool by tool

What each tool is genuinely best at

01

ScaleOps

Best for: Teams that want pods, nodes, spot and GPUs run hands-free by one self-hosted platform

ScaleOps is the incumbent on most rightsizing shortlists in 2026, and its pitch is breadth: one self-hosted platform that continuously manages CPU, memory, GPU, storage and network for every workload in production, plus the nodes underneath them. Its site claims cost cuts of up to 80 percent and names Maxar (now Vantor) at 62 percent CPU savings and 40 percent memory savings and Outbrain at over 40 percent cost savings. It is listed on the AWS, Google Cloud and Azure marketplaces and offers self-hosted, ScaleOps Cloud and air-gapped deployment. The price is the surprise. scaleops.com/pricing is a custom-quote form using almost the same sentence CAST AI uses, but the AWS Marketplace listing publishes a fixed platform fee of $50,000 a year (or $4,167 a month, so no annual discount) plus a metered fee of $9.00 per vCPU, and states that ScaleOps does not currently support refunds. The listing does not say what period the $9.00 covers, so ask before you model it. CloudBolt's comparison credits ScaleOps with a 7-day trial; ScaleOps's own site does not state a trial length. Budget for the Prometheus footprint as well, because it is per cluster and it is yours to run.

ScaleOps compared to Costanalyst
02

StormForge Optimize Live (CloudBolt)

Best for: Rightsizing only, without restarts, with a staged rollout and a published per-vCPU rate

StormForge is the narrow, careful option, and it publishes more about price than anyone else in this category. CloudBolt completed the StormForge acquisition on 31 March 2025 and sells Optimize Live as per vCPU, billed annually, with volume discounts, pay-as-you-go on AWS Marketplace and a 30-day free trial. The contract listing prices a 1,000 vCPU block at $2,700 a month or $32,400 a year, which is $2.70 per vCPU per month. The pay-as-you-go listing meters $0.0041 per requested vCPU per hour, which works out to about $2.99 per vCPU per month at 730 hours and roughly $35,900 a year for the same 1,000 vCPUs, with no upfront or minimum cost and billing based on requested CPU cores per cluster including every HPA replica. Technically it is built around in-place pod resizing with automatic rollback, patented bi-dimensional autoscaling that moves requests and HPA targets together, per-workload machine learning models trained on 28 or more days of usage, and Java heap rightsizing. Three lightweight pods run in the cluster and everything else runs in CloudBolt's cloud. What it does not do is nodes, spot or GPUs; CloudBolt says GPU support is on the roadmap. Two cautions: the AWS listing states SaaS subscription fees are non-refundable, and the brand name collides with an unrelated game server in search, so write "StormForge Optimize Live" when you brief procurement.

StormForge Optimize Live (CloudBolt) compared to Costanalyst
03

CAST AI

Best for: Multi-cloud estates that want the autoscaler, spot and pod sizing from one independent vendor

CAST AI is the third name on almost every ScaleOps shortlist, and it competes with ScaleOps far more than with StormForge because it also takes over the node layer: cluster autoscaling, bin-packing, spot automation with fallback to on-demand, commitments utilization, container live migration and vertical plus horizontal pod autoscaling, across Amazon EKS, Google GKE, Azure AKS and Oracle Cloud. Its pricing page is a quote form, but its own AWS Marketplace listing (prodview-vtvxyzbzs3huy, sold by Cast AI) publishes a rate card: a Free plan for monitoring, Growth at $1,000 a month or $12,000 a year for up to 4 managed clusters and 500 CPU, GrowthPro at the same $1,000 a month for unlimited clusters and up to 2,000 CPU, Enterprise at $5,000 a month or $60,000 a year, a Cost Monitoring add-on at $200 a month, and an additional hourly charge per managed CPU of $0.00694444, which is $5.00 per CPU per 720-hour month. The listing states that CAST AI does not currently offer refunds. If you are choosing between ScaleOps and StormForge because you want the whole cluster managed, CAST AI belongs in the same evaluation; if you only want pod rightsizing, it is more product than you need.

CAST AI compared to Costanalyst
04

PerfectScale (DoiT)

Best for: Grading the idea before you sign an annual contract

PerfectScale is the cheapest way to find out whether automated rightsizing will actually pay for itself in your clusters. It publishes a free tier, free up to 200 vCPU a month with unlimited clusters, nodes and pods, and its paid Advanced and Expert tiers are quoted per vCPU. Run it in recommend-only mode for a few weeks against workloads you understand, compare its suggested requests to what ScaleOps's or StormForge's trial produces, and you walk into the negotiation with your own waste number instead of the vendor's. It can apply changes too, but its role on this page is the grader.

PerfectScale (DoiT) compared to Costanalyst
05

Kubernetes Vertical Pod Autoscaler

Best for: Platform teams that will operate the free baseline themselves

VPA is the number every paid tool on this page has to beat. It recommends CPU and memory requests from observed usage and can apply them, and with in-place pod resize stable in Kubernetes v1.35 the restart penalty that made VPA painful in production is disappearing. What it lacks is exactly what the vendors sell: HPA coordination (VPA and HPA on the same metric still fight), seasonality-aware models, rollback on health degradation, Java heap awareness, and anyone to call. Note that VPA's Auto update mode was deprecated in VPA 1.4.0, so read the current docs before you build a rollout plan around it. If your platform team has the capacity, benchmark VPA first and make ScaleOps or StormForge show what they add on top.

06

Costanalyst

Best for: Measuring Kubernetes cost per team before and after you buy rightsizing automation

We are the read-only option, and we are here for one situation. ScaleOps and StormForge both report their own savings, and ScaleOps is priced on the vCPUs it manages while StormForge is priced on the vCPUs your workloads request, so each vendor's number is entangled with its invoice. Costanalyst connects your AWS, Azure and Google Cloud billing plus Kubernetes cost data read-only, allocates it by cluster, namespace, team and product, forecasts it and flags anomalies, with no controller in the cluster and no write access anywhere. Run it before the trial to get a defensible waste number, keep it running after go-live to check the vendor's savings claim against the bill finance actually pays, and use the same view to catch the spend that rightsizing does not touch: managed databases, storage, egress and the SaaS bill next to the cluster.

See how Costanalyst works

How to choose

Pick by the problem you actually have

A pod restart is expensive for you (JVMs, stateful sets, long jobs)

Shortlist StormForge first. In-place resizing with automatic rollback is the center of its product, and Java heap rightsizing is a published feature. Confirm your Kubernetes version supports in-place resize (stable in v1.35) and test one JVM-heavy namespace during the 30-day trial before you sign the annual contract.

Nobody owns node management and you want one vendor for the whole stack

Shortlist ScaleOps. It is the only one of the two that provisions and consolidates nodes, handles spot capacity, optimizes Karpenter and rightsizes GPU workloads. Put CAST AI in the same evaluation, because it makes the same whole-cluster claim across more clouds.

Telemetry cannot leave the cluster

ScaleOps is self-hosted and offers an air-gapped deployment; StormForge processes metrics in CloudBolt's cloud and states that only resource usage metrics leave the cluster. If your policy is no external telemetry at all, that settles it. Budget the per-cluster Prometheus that ScaleOps needs.

You have fewer than about 1,500 vCPUs and want to start without a contract

StormForge's pay-as-you-go listing has no minimum: 1,000 requested vCPUs cost roughly $2,990 a month at $0.0041 per vCPU-hour. ScaleOps's public listing charges the $4,167 monthly platform fee before the first vCPU is metered, so the fixed fee dominates at small scale. Ask ScaleOps for a private offer if that is your size.

You already run Karpenter well

Do not replace it. StormForge is built to sit beside Karpenter, rightsizing requests so Karpenter can bin-pack tighter; ScaleOps includes Karpenter optimization as part of its node management. Benchmark utilization, pending pod time and spot share on your current setup first, then ask each vendor to show the delta.

Security will not approve write access this quarter

Start with measurement. PerfectScale is free up to 200 vCPU a month in recommend-only mode, StormForge can run in observe mode, and Costanalyst allocates Kubernetes cost per team read-only. Arrive at the security review with your own waste number and the vendor quote for closing it.

Questions buyers ask

Kubernetes pod rightsizing platforms, answered

ScaleOps vs StormForge: which is better for Kubernetes rightsizing?

StormForge is the better pure rightsizer: in-place resizing with automatic rollback, HPA-coupled recommendations, Java heap awareness and a staged observe-recommend-automate rollout. ScaleOps is the better platform if you want pods, nodes, spot capacity, Karpenter and GPUs managed by one self-hosted product from day one. Price the two on your real vCPU count using the AWS Marketplace rate cards, because the shapes differ: ScaleOps charges a fixed annual platform fee plus a per-vCPU meter, StormForge charges per vCPU only.

How much does ScaleOps cost?

ScaleOps's own pricing page gives no number and asks you to book a demo. Its AWS Marketplace listing (prodview-t6ctoxyyxp5zs) publishes a ScaleOps Platform Fee of $50,000 for twelve months or $4,167 for one month, plus a ScaleOps Platform Metered Fee of $9.00 per vCPU, and states that ScaleOps does not currently support refunds. The listing does not state the metering period for the $9.00, so confirm it before you model an annual cost.

How much does StormForge cost?

StormForge publishes two AWS Marketplace listings. The contract listing prices Optimize Live at $2,700 a month or $32,400 a year per 1,000 vCPUs, quantity configurable. The pay-as-you-go listing meters $0.0041 per requested vCPU per hour, roughly $2.99 per vCPU per month, with no upfront or minimum cost. CloudBolt also offers a 30-day free trial and volume discounts on annual terms. Fees are stated as non-refundable.

Is ScaleOps free?

No. ScaleOps offers a free trial (CloudBolt's comparison describes it as seven days; ScaleOps's own site does not state a length) and then charges a platform fee plus a per-vCPU meter. If you want a genuinely free tier for rightsizing, PerfectScale is free up to 200 vCPU a month and the Kubernetes Vertical Pod Autoscaler is free and open source.

Does StormForge restart pods to apply a change?

Not by default. CloudBolt states that Optimize Live performs in-place pod resizing with automatic rollback if application health degrades, on clusters where the Kubernetes version supports it (in-place resize became stable in v1.35). On older clusters a request change still requires a restart, so check your version before assuming zero disruption.

Does ScaleOps require Prometheus?

Yes, according to CloudBolt's published comparison, which states that ScaleOps is self-hosted and requires in-cluster Prometheus for metrics collection and storage, with a full Prometheus deployment per cluster. ScaleOps's own site describes the product as natively self-hosted with self-hosted, ScaleOps Cloud and air-gapped options. Plan for the Prometheus footprint as part of the total cost.

StormForge vs ScaleOps: which is cheaper at 1,000 vCPUs?

On the public rate cards, StormForge: $32,400 a year on contract or about $35,900 pay-as-you-go for 1,000 requested vCPUs. ScaleOps charges a $50,000 annual platform fee before the $9.00 per vCPU meter is applied, so it is at least $50,000 plus metering. Private offers can change both numbers, and ScaleOps covers more of the cluster, so compare the scope you will actually use, not just the fee.

Can I run ScaleOps and StormForge on the same cluster?

Not on the same workloads. Both set CPU and memory requests and both interact with the HPA, so two controllers writing the same fields will fight, producing churn and two conflicting savings reports. If you want to compare them, run each on a separate namespace or cluster during the trials, with the same baseline period, and measure with something that neither of them invoices.

Is StormForge part of CloudBolt?

Yes. CloudBolt completed its acquisition of StormForge on 31 March 2025, and StormForge Optimize Live is now sold and supported by CloudBolt alongside its cloud management and FinOps products. The AWS Marketplace listings are still published under the StormForge seller name.

ScaleOps vs CAST AI: what is the difference?

Both manage the whole cluster, not just pod requests. CAST AI leads with the node layer (cluster autoscaling, bin-packing, spot with on-demand fallback, live container migration) across EKS, GKE, AKS and Oracle Cloud, and its AWS Marketplace listing prices Growth at $1,000 a month plus $0.00694444 per managed CPU-hour, about $5 per CPU a month. ScaleOps leads with autonomous workload management on self-hosted or air-gapped Kubernetes, adds GPU rightsizing, and its listing prices a $50,000 annual platform fee plus $9.00 per vCPU. At 500 managed CPUs the CAST AI card comes to about $42,000 a year against at least $50,000 for ScaleOps before metering. If your decision is ScaleOps vs StormForge because you want nodes managed too, CAST AI belongs in the evaluation.

Does ScaleOps support GPUs?

Yes. ScaleOps lists autonomous GPU workload rightsizing and fractional GPU automation for inference on its site. StormForge does not: CloudBolt states GPU optimization is on the roadmap and not yet available. If GPU waste is a material line on your bill, that is a deciding difference today.

See your savings in dollars

Connect your cloud and SaaS spend read-only and get a prioritized savings plan. Money never moves. Create your account and get started.