CostAnalyst
Buyer guide

EKS Rightsizing Tools: Amazon EKS Rightsizing Software and EKS Cost Optimization Tools Compared

Rightsizing on Amazon EKS is two jobs that most tool lists treat as one. Pod rightsizing sets CPU and memory requests close to what each container actually uses, so the scheduler stops reserving capacity nobody touches. Node rightsizing picks the EC2 instance types and counts that fit the requests you end up with, because AWS bills you per instance-second, not per request. Unlike Azure, AWS ships no managed rightsizing add-on for EKS: the Vertical Pod Autoscaler is something you install and run yourself, AWS Compute Optimizer explicitly skips Auto Scaling groups that run EKS workloads, and the managed node answer, EKS Auto Mode, adds a fee on every instance it launches. This page lists ten tools that rightsize EKS, what each one changes, the EKS-specific catch, and what each costs where a price is published, including the AWS Marketplace rate cards most vendors do not show on their own sites.

Spend Console
Cloud + SaaS
Connected AWS GCP Azure SaaS
Find savings in
Identified

projected this month if unattended

Spend by team

Budget forecast

Projected EoQ $124k
With savings
Example figures ยท read-only access, money never moves

The short answer

The best EKS rightsizing tool depends on which layer is wasting money and who will run it. Teams with platform engineers can get most of the savings for free with the open source Vertical Pod Autoscaler (in-place resizing is stable from Kubernetes 1.35 on EKS) plus self-managed Karpenter for nodes. Buy CAST AI, ScaleOps, StormForge or PerfectScale when you need VPA and HPA on the same workloads, Java heap tuning, spot automation with fallback, or someone else to own the controller. EKS Auto Mode is the AWS-managed middle path, at about 12 percent on top of the on-demand price of every instance it runs.

CostAnalyst is on this list, so here is the plain version first. We do not install a controller in your EKS clusters and we do not change pod requests or node groups. We read your AWS bill, including split cost allocation data for EKS, read-only, allocate EKS spend per team and product, and show what the rightsizing tool you pick actually saved on the invoice. We publish our prices. Everything below about other vendors comes from AWS documentation or the vendors' own AWS Marketplace listings, read in September 2026.

How we compared

Five things that actually separate these tools

Which layer is wasting the money: pod requests or EC2 nodes

Split the EKS bill into its two problems before you shortlist anything, because they need different tools. Inflated pod requests show up as nodes that are full on paper and quiet in practice: every CPU is requested, new pods go Pending, and average utilization sits at 20 or 30 percent. The fix changes requests, which is what VPA, ScaleOps, StormForge, PerfectScale and CAST AI's workload autoscaler do. Badly sized nodes look different: requests are sensible, but a managed node group was built on one instance type a year ago, so pods fragment and a large slice of every instance is left over. That fix changes instances, which is what Karpenter, EKS Auto Mode, CAST AI and Spot Ocean do. The number to watch is the unused cost that split cost allocation data for EKS adds to your Cost and Usage Report. If shrinking requests does not shrink that number, nothing consolidated the pods onto fewer instances and the invoice stays flat. You need both layers covered, by the open source pair or by one vendor that does both.

What AWS gives you for free, and where it stops

AWS covers the node layer well and the pod layer barely. Karpenter, which AWS created and donated to the Kubernetes project, is free under Apache 2.0 and picks EC2 instance types from what pending pods ask for; you run and upgrade the controller yourself. For pods there is no managed add-on on EKS as there is on AKS: the EKS user guide walks you through deploying the upstream Vertical Pod Autoscaler from GitHub, and it depends on the Kubernetes Metrics Server, which AWS offers as a community add-on it installs but does not support functionally. In-place pod resizing, which lets a request change without a restart, went beta in Kubernetes 1.33 and stable in 1.35, and EKS has supported 1.35 since January 2026. The limit most buyers miss is on the AWS side: the Compute Optimizer documentation states it does not produce rightsizing recommendations for EC2 Auto Scaling groups running Amazon ECS or Amazon EKS workloads, and none for Spot Instances. It will flag an idle node group and stop there.

What EKS Auto Mode costs on top of your EC2 bill

EKS Auto Mode runs Karpenter, the core add-ons and node patching for you, and charges for it per instance. The AWS pricing page bills the fee per second with a one-minute minimum, in addition to the EC2 price, and its examples put a c6a.2xlarge at $0.306 an hour plus $0.03672 for Auto Mode and a c6a.4xlarge at $0.612 plus $0.07344: exactly 12 percent of the on-demand rate. AWS also states the Auto Mode charge is independent of the purchase option, so Spot Instances, Reserved Instances and Compute Savings Plans lower the instance price and leave the fee where it was. On an m5 fleet the fee works out to about $4.20 per vCPU a month, roughly $25,000 a year at 500 vCPUs. If most of that fleet runs on spot at 30 to 40 percent of the on-demand price, the fee equals 30 to 40 percent of what you pay for the instances themselves. Auto Mode also replaces nodes after at most 21 days, which suits stateless services and needs care for anything long-running.

What the commercial tools cost, where they publish it

Most EKS rightsizing vendors show a quote form on their own site and a full rate card on AWS Marketplace, sold under their own seller name, which on EKS also means the fee lands on your AWS invoice and can count toward an AWS spend commitment if the agreement allows it. CAST AI lists Growth at $1,000 a month for up to 500 CPUs and four clusters, plus $0.00694444 per managed CPU per hour, which is $5.00 per CPU for a 720-hour month, and Enterprise at $5,000 a month. ScaleOps lists a platform fee of $50,000 a year plus $9.00 per vCPU, with the metering period not stated on the listing. StormForge Optimize Live, now owned by CloudBolt, lists $2,700 a month per 1,000 vCPUs on contract and $0.0041 per requested vCPU-hour pay-as-you-go with no minimum, about $2.99 per vCPU a month. PerfectScale by DoiT publishes a free tier up to 300 vCPUs a month and lists Advanced at $2 and Expert at $4 per vCPU a month. Spot Ocean, now Flexera, lists $1.415 per 100 vCPU-hours, about $10.33 per vCPU a month. IBM Kubecost has a $0 EKS cost monitoring listing and an Enterprise public offer at $15,000 a year to 250 cores.

What IAM access the tool needs in your AWS account

Security review is where EKS rightsizing projects stall, so get the access model in writing before the demo. Recommendation-only tools need read access to the cluster and a metrics source such as Prometheus or the Metrics Server. Pod-level automation needs write access inside Kubernetes: VPA and the commercial pod tools mutate pod specs through an admission webhook and patch running pods. Node-level automation needs write access in AWS itself, because Karpenter, CAST AI and Spot Ocean launch and terminate EC2 instances, so they need an IAM role, usually granted through EKS Pod Identity or IAM roles for service accounts, with EC2 create and terminate permissions scoped to the cluster. CAST AI starts with a read-only agent that produces a savings estimate before you grant anything else. If your security team will not approve a controller that can terminate instances this quarter, the realistic shortlist is VPA in Off mode, Kubecost or OpenCost, split cost allocation data and a bill-level view, and the node decision waits for the next review.

At a glance

10 EKS rightsizing tools compared

← Scroll to see all columns →

Tool Best for What it rightsizes The EKS catch Pricing
Vertical Pod Autoscaler (open source) Platform teams that will install and run the autoscaler themselves Pod CPU and memory requests; in place on Kubernetes 1.35 and later Not a managed EKS add-on; needs the Metrics Server; not with a CPU or memory HPA Free, Apache 2.0; you run it
Karpenter (self-managed) EKS clusters whose managed node groups were sized once and never revisited EC2 instance types and node counts from pending pod requests You run, upgrade and secure the controller and its IAM role Free, Apache 2.0; you pay for the EC2 instances
EKS Auto Mode Teams that want AWS to own node provisioning, patching and core add-ons EC2 instances, managed by AWS-run Karpenter Fee applies on spot, RI and Savings Plan instances too; nodes replaced within 21 days About 12% of the on-demand price per instance, e.g. $0.03672 an hour on a c6a.2xlarge
AWS split cost allocation data for EKS Seeing pod-level and unused EKS cost in the Cost and Usage Report Nothing; it measures cost per pod and unused instance cost Must be enabled in the management account; the data lands in CUR, not a dashboard No separate charge; you query the CUR yourself
CAST AI EKS estates that want nodes, spot and pod requests managed by one controller Nodes, spot capacity, bin packing and pod requests Replaces Karpenter or the Cluster Autoscaler, so pick one node owner Free monitoring; Growth $1,000 per month plus $5.00 per CPU per month on AWS Marketplace; Enterprise $5,000 per month
ScaleOps Large EKS estates that want continuous pod rightsizing and keep their node tooling Pod requests, replicas and pod placement Metering period for the $9.00 per vCPU charge is not stated on the listing $50,000 per year platform fee plus $9.00 per vCPU on AWS Marketplace
StormForge Optimize Live (CloudBolt) Teams that want ML pod rightsizing priced per vCPU with no minimum, including Auto Mode clusters Pod requests and limits, including Java heap settings Priced on requested vCPUs, including HPA replicas $0.0041 per requested vCPU-hour pay-as-you-go, or $32,400 per year per 1,000 vCPUs on AWS Marketplace; 30-day trial
PerfectScale by DoiT Smaller EKS estates that want automated rightsizing with a free entry tier Pod requests, limits and node utilization Paid rates are published on AWS Marketplace, not on its own site Free up to 300 vCPUs per month; AWS Marketplace lists Advanced at $2 and Expert at $4 per vCPU a month
Kubecost (IBM) Namespace chargeback and rightsizing recommendations across EKS clusters Nothing; recommends requests and flags idle capacity Recommends only; an engineer applies the change $0 EKS cost monitoring listing; free to 250 cores; Enterprise $15,000 per year to 250 cores on AWS Marketplace
CostAnalyst Finance and FinOps teams proving what EKS rightsizing saved on the AWS invoice Nothing in the cluster; allocates AWS and EKS spend per team Kubernetes allocation is on the Scale plan $99, $299 and $799 per month, published; Kubernetes on the Scale plan

Product facts checked July 2026. Vendors change pricing and packaging often, so confirm before you buy.

Tool by tool

What each tool is genuinely best at

01

Vertical Pod Autoscaler (open source)

Best for: Platform teams that will install and run the autoscaler themselves

The upstream VPA is still the first thing to try on EKS. It recommends and applies CPU and memory requests from observed usage, and on Kubernetes 1.35 and later it can resize running pods in place instead of evicting them. Start in Off mode, read the recommendations for two weeks (the open source Goldilocks dashboard makes them easier to read), then let it act. The catch on EKS is ownership: AWS documents how to deploy it but does not manage or support it, so upgrades and failures are yours.

Vertical Pod Autoscaler (open source) compared to CostAnalyst
02

Karpenter (self-managed)

Best for: EKS clusters whose managed node groups were sized once and never revisited

Karpenter is the node half of rightsizing on EKS. Instead of scaling a fixed node group, it reads what pending pods need and launches the cheapest instance types that fit, including spot, then consolidates underused nodes. AWS built it and it is the engine inside EKS Auto Mode. Self-managed, it costs nothing but the engineering time to run it well. It does not touch pod requests, so pair it with VPA or a pod-level tool.

Karpenter (self-managed) compared to CostAnalyst
03

EKS Auto Mode

Best for: Teams that want AWS to own node provisioning, patching and core add-ons

Auto Mode is AWS running Karpenter, the VPC CNI, storage and load balancing for you, on Bottlerocket nodes with no SSH access. It removes the node-rightsizing work rather than paying a vendor for it. The price is the thing to model: the fee follows the on-demand rate even when you pay spot or commitment prices, so a heavily discounted fleet pays proportionally more. It does not change pod requests.

EKS Auto Mode compared to CostAnalyst
04

AWS split cost allocation data for EKS

Best for: Seeing pod-level and unused EKS cost in the Cost and Usage Report

Split cost allocation data adds pod-level CPU and memory cost to your Cost and Usage Report, based on the amortized cost of each instance and each pod's share of it, and since October 2025 it imports up to 50 Kubernetes labels per pod as cost allocation tags. It changes nothing in the cluster, but it is the most honest before-and-after number for a rightsizing project because it comes from the bill. Someone still has to query and chart it.

AWS split cost allocation data for EKS compared to CostAnalyst
05

CAST AI

Best for: EKS estates that want nodes, spot and pod requests managed by one controller

CAST AI rightsizes both layers on EKS: it takes over node provisioning, moves eligible workloads to spot with fallback to on-demand, bin-packs pods and resizes requests. It installs a read-only agent first and estimates savings before you grant write access. Its own pricing page is a quote form; the AWS Marketplace listing is where the numbers are, and a 500-CPU cluster on Growth lists at about $42,000 a year.

CAST AI compared to CostAnalyst
06

ScaleOps

Best for: Large EKS estates that want continuous pod rightsizing and keep their node tooling

ScaleOps publishes its own EKS workload optimization guide and runs self-hosted, as ScaleOps Cloud or air-gapped. It works at the pod layer: continuous request rightsizing, replica tuning and placement, alongside Karpenter rather than instead of it. The public price is steep at the bottom end, so it fits estates where pod waste clearly exceeds $50,000 a year. Get the metering period of the per-vCPU charge in writing.

ScaleOps compared to CostAnalyst
07

StormForge Optimize Live (CloudBolt)

Best for: Teams that want ML pod rightsizing priced per vCPU with no minimum, including Auto Mode clusters

StormForge learns request and limit settings from weeks of usage and can resize pods in place. CloudBolt publishes a guide to running it with EKS Auto Mode, which is a sensible pairing: Auto Mode handles nodes, StormForge handles the requests that decide how many nodes Auto Mode launches. The pay-as-you-go meter has no minimum, which makes it the cheapest paid pod automation here at small scale.

StormForge Optimize Live (CloudBolt) compared to CostAnalyst
08

PerfectScale by DoiT

Best for: Smaller EKS estates that want automated rightsizing with a free entry tier

PerfectScale supports EKS, AKS, GKE, OpenShift and Rancher and has the only published free tier sized for a real cluster among the automated vendors: 300 vCPUs a month. That makes it the easiest paid-grade tool to trial on one EKS cluster without a procurement cycle, and its per-vCPU paid rates are low enough to compare directly with the VPA engineering time they replace.

PerfectScale by DoiT compared to CostAnalyst
09

Kubecost (IBM)

Best for: Namespace chargeback and rightsizing recommendations across EKS clusters

Kubecost is the cost allocation tool most EKS teams already run, and IBM publishes a free Amazon EKS cost monitoring listing on AWS Marketplace. It allocates cost per namespace, deployment and label and produces request recommendations, which makes it the natural measurement layer next to Karpenter and VPA. It does not apply anything itself.

Kubecost (IBM) compared to CostAnalyst
10

CostAnalyst

Best for: Finance and FinOps teams proving what EKS rightsizing saved on the AWS invoice

CostAnalyst reads your AWS bill, including split cost allocation data for EKS, read-only, allocates EKS spend to teams and products next to the rest of your cloud and SaaS spend, and flags anomalies. It sits outside the cluster the rightsizing tool changes, so the before-and-after number finance sees does not come from the vendor being paid on it.

See how CostAnalyst works

How to choose

Pick by the problem you actually have

You have platform engineers and want to spend nothing on licenses

Run the open source pair. Install VPA in Off mode, read two weeks of recommendations, then enable it on Kubernetes 1.35 or later so changes apply in place. Replace static node groups with self-managed Karpenter. Turn on split cost allocation data first so you can see unused instance cost fall.

You want AWS to own nodes and you mostly run on-demand

EKS Auto Mode fits: the 12 percent fee on on-demand instances often costs less than the engineering time of running Karpenter, core add-ons and AMI patching yourself. Pair it with a pod-level tool such as StormForge, because Auto Mode only launches what your requests ask for.

Most of your EKS fleet runs on spot or Savings Plans

Model Auto Mode carefully, because its fee follows the on-demand price and does not shrink with your discount. Self-managed Karpenter, CAST AI or Spot Ocean price differently: free, per managed CPU, or per vCPU-hour. At 500 vCPUs compare roughly $25,000 a year of Auto Mode fees on m5-class instances with CAST AI Growth at about $42,000 and Spot Ocean at about $62,000, then weigh what each automates.

You need VPA-style rightsizing and horizontal autoscaling on the same workloads

The upstream VPA should not run with an HPA that scales on the same CPU and memory metrics. ScaleOps and StormForge both manage requests while the HPA scales replicas. ScaleOps suits large estates that can absorb a $50,000 platform fee; StormForge suits smaller ones.

You run Java services on EKS

Request changes alone rarely help a JVM, because the heap reserves memory up front. StormForge tunes heap settings with the container request. Test it pay-as-you-go on one namespace before a contract.

Finance wants the savings proven by someone other than the vendor

Keep the measurement outside the cluster the vendor changes. Allocate EKS spend per team from the AWS bill before the rollout and compare the same view after it. CostAnalyst does that read-only, next to your other cloud and SaaS spend, at a published price.

Questions buyers ask

EKS rightsizing tools, answered

What is the best EKS rightsizing tool?

For teams that can run it themselves, the best EKS rightsizing setup is free: the open source Vertical Pod Autoscaler for pod requests and Karpenter for EC2 nodes. When you need VPA and HPA together, Java tuning, spot automation or a vendor to own the controller, CAST AI, ScaleOps, StormForge and PerfectScale are the paid options, chosen by which layer wastes money.

Does Amazon EKS support vertical pod autoscaling?

Yes, but not as a managed add-on. The EKS user guide shows how to deploy the upstream Kubernetes Vertical Pod Autoscaler from GitHub, and it needs the Kubernetes Metrics Server, which AWS offers as a community add-on. AWS installs the Metrics Server but does not support the functionality of either component, so upgrades and troubleshooting are yours.

Does EKS support in-place pod resizing?

Yes. In-place pod resize went beta in Kubernetes 1.33 and stable in 1.35, and Amazon EKS has supported 1.35 since January 2026 and 1.36 since June 2026. The VPA InPlaceOrRecreate mode uses it to change requests on a running pod and evicts the pod only when an in-place change is not possible.

Does AWS Compute Optimizer support EKS?

Only for idle detection. The Compute Optimizer documentation states that it does not generate rightsizing recommendations for EC2 Auto Scaling groups running Amazon ECS or Amazon EKS workloads, and none for Spot Instances. It does generate idle recommendations for those groups. For pod requests on EKS you need VPA, Kubecost or a commercial tool.

How much does EKS Auto Mode cost?

EKS Auto Mode adds a per-instance fee of about 12 percent of the on-demand price, billed per second on top of the EC2 charge and the $0.10 per hour cluster fee. AWS gives a c6a.2xlarge as $0.03672 an hour. The fee does not change when the instance runs on spot, a Reserved Instance or a Savings Plan.

Is Karpenter free on EKS?

Yes. Karpenter is open source under Apache 2.0 and has no license fee when you run it yourself; you pay only for the EC2 instances it launches and the compute the controller runs on. The managed version inside EKS Auto Mode is the one with a fee, charged per instance.

Can I use VPA and HPA together on EKS?

Not on the same metrics. The upstream Vertical Pod Autoscaler should not be combined with a Horizontal Pod Autoscaler that scales on the same CPU and memory usage, because each undoes the other. An HPA on custom or external metrics can coexist. ScaleOps and StormForge are built to manage requests while an HPA scales replicas.

How do I see pod-level costs on EKS?

Enable split cost allocation data for Amazon EKS in the Billing console of your management account. It adds CPU and memory cost per pod to your Cost and Usage Report, including unused instance cost, and can import up to 50 Kubernetes labels per pod as cost allocation tags. Kubecost and OpenCost give the same view inside the cluster.

Does CAST AI support EKS?

Yes. CAST AI supports EKS alongside GKE, AKS and Oracle Cloud. On EKS it replaces Karpenter or the Cluster Autoscaler, uses spot with fallback to on-demand, bin-packs pods and resizes requests. Its AWS Marketplace listing prices Growth at $1,000 a month plus $5.00 per managed CPU per month.

Is Kubecost free on EKS?

Yes, up to 250 cores. IBM publishes a free Amazon EKS cost monitoring listing on AWS Marketplace, and the Foundations tier is free with unlimited clusters up to 250 cores and 15 days of metric retention. The Enterprise public offer on AWS Marketplace is $15,000 a year to 250 cores.

See your savings in dollars

Connect your cloud and SaaS spend read-only and get a prioritized savings plan. Money never moves. Create your account and get started.